You are here: Home Page > Patients > Patient feedback > Patient testimonials
Patients

Patient Testimonials:

June 2013 - Mrs S

I just wanted you to know about the wonderful service I have received at the Physiotherapy department. I phoned and explained that my mum-in-law has untreatable cancer in her spine which is causing her foot to drop and asked if anyone could help.

Sally on reception was unsure and promised to call me back. Very quickly Gavin rang offering to help and pushed us into his very busy schedule. He was so kind and gentle with my mum-in-law and organised a splint. All my mum-in-law wanted to do was walk again for a while. He measured her and the following week phoned to say the splint had arrived. Once again he squeezed her into his schedule and treated both of us with kindness and understanding.

I am happy to report that she is now walking again with crutches and it has given her a new lease of life albeit for a while.

I think it is important to acknowledge when you receive excellent service but the service we received went over and above that. You are lucky to have such wonderful staff.

June 2013 - Ms L

I would like to thank all concerned at the Hospital, staff, doctors, nurses as well as Beth and the girls in physio, for all the care and kindness to me during my operation and visits thereafter. Everyone was most kind and this meant it was a very pleasant experience for me. I thank you all so very much. I was in room XX and all the staff there were excellent at all times.

June 2013 - Barbara

Prof. Frame, Thank you for being absolutely lovely! My stay at Springfield, the care I received and the end result, well just couldn't have been better. My thanks once again.

June 2013 - Mrs R

I recently had an operation at Springfield Hospital and I should like to express my appreciation of the care and attention I received. The doctors explained the various procedures, discussed them with me and gave me the opportunity to ask questions which allayed any fears I might have had. All the nurses and other staff I met were very kind and helpful. I am happy to say I am recovering well.

June 2013 - Mrs H

Fantastic nurses and staff. Fast service for appointments.

 

June 2013 - Anonymous

Everything was very well performed. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and caring. Nothing was too much trouble. My stay was as ‘enjoyable’ as it possibly could have been.

May 2013 - Anonymous

From initial appointment to discharge following surgery - excellent treatment and outstanding staff - thank you.

May 2013 - Mrs F

I was a complete nervous wreck (pathetically)! The nurses/ the consultants / The Theatre staff were amazing and reassured me every step of the way. I am truly grateful. I would change nothing – Positive/happy energy made the experience as easy as possible.

 

May 2013 - Redmond

Last year I had a hernia operation at Springfield. Although only a day stay, I was treated with the utmost courtesy and care and looked after by a very good nurse. The operation was successful and I am pleased to say I am fully recovered.

 

Most recently, I presented symptoms of prostate problems to my local GP and he again recommended Springfield Hospital.

 

I had many procedures and tests before diagnosis – all were fully explained as the process progressed. It was decided, after all tests were completed that I needed a trans-urethral resection – which meant an operation and a two day stay.

 

I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to all the Drs, nurses and staff that I came into contact with, both before and during the operation.

 

Special thanks to Mr Ranjan Thilagarajah who operated on me. Suzie Nicholls, his right hand man, who was exceptional. Sue Stirling, Pam on the night shift, Jessy George and Ann Wintle who made sure I was fed.

 

Speaking of food, I have to say, the meal I received after the operation was cooked to perfection, nicely presented and totally delicious. Not to detract from the next day’s meal which was equally as good.

 

May 2013 - Ms Duncan

I recently stayed at Springfield Hospital for a 4 day stay following a hip replacement operation and would like to thank everyone for looking after me so well. The nurses, the physio’s, the waitresses all made my stay very comfortable.

I have never had an operation so it was all a new experiences for me. There was one nurse who went over the call of duty for me, doing things like getting all my medication ready before she went off duty so that I could get picked up early her name was Sharon.

April 2013 - Brian

With reference to my stay in your hospital for a total knee replacement in March under the wonderful supervision and the capable hands of Mr Christopher Rees. His team, all the nurses and the physiotherapy team, that looked after me with the utmost attention, were all so pleasant. Therefore: A Very Big Thank You to all.  

April 2013 - Michael

An excellent experience as usual and as expected with particular praise for my nurse Victoria Smith. Her care was exemplary; professional with tact, friendliness and humour even when dealing with an idiosyncratic 71 year old terrified on any sentence with the word hospital in it. Thank you.  

March 2013 - Keith

I was admitted as a day patient under Mr Maheshwar in March for minor surgery. From telephone checks made by nursing staff before admittance to the attention given by catering staff after my surgery, the treatment was exemplary. The arrangements for admittance and discharge were (to me, the patient) uncomplicated and efficient.

 

It seemed to me that people genuinely enjoyed and took pride in what they were doing, which is the hallmark of a well-run patient-orientated organisation. Everyone that I met, from the porters, to the anaesthetists, to operating theatre and recovery room staff was cheerful and efficient and very focussed on their patients’ care and needs.

 

I would particularly like to mention the care and professionalism of Mr Maheshwar and staff nurse Samantha, both of whom also have an excellent “bedside manner”. Would that it could be bottled and shared with parts of the NHS.

 

I have been treated at Springfield Hospital several times and I have seen absolutely no difference in the high standard of care and attention that I have received.   

March 2013 - Ms Smith

The whole experience was faultless e.g. communication on my home telephone, the man on reception, cleanliness of room, the nursing staff were a credit to the hospital. Contact with the surgical team was impressive, and the catering was 1st class. Thanks

March 2013 - Sykes

Springfield Hospital is like a 'home away from home' as we'll had different treatments and operations there! A very nice and friendly hospital.

March 2013 - J Essex

I have recently under gone gynecomastia surgery with Dr Makarand Tare. To any patient that's considering plastic surgery of any sort,

I'd highly recommend Dr Makarand Tare and his colleagues who work beside him based in Springfield hospital at chelmsford, Essex.

He went through every single detail of my operation and re assured me before I was to make any decision, with no pressure.

After 7 years living uncomfortable with how my body looked he has giving me back my confidence and my life,

I couldn't thank him enough.

 

An incredibly talented surgeon, definitely the man to go to.

10/10 for everything.

 

March 2013 - Ken

I would like to tell you how impressed I was with the treatment I received at your hospital. This was my second visit for a hip replacement. I was operated on by the delightful Mr. Charnley, all the nursing staff who attended me during my week stay were first class without exception, nothing was too much trouble and the aftercare was also excellent.  

February 2013 - Gill

I underwent physio with Louise for approx 16 sessions. During this time I had a combination of laser, ultrasound, acupuncture, massage
and exercises. Louise's care was excellent. She listened to me at every appointment and changed my treatment to suit my symptoms. I
cannot speak highly of the service I received. I cannot thank Louise for the treatment I received as it was a long period but she never made me feel I was causing a problem. Thanks for a brilliant service.

February 2013 - Janet

Excellent physiotherapy service provided by 'Claire'. Diagnosed and treated a long standing problem which no other therapy had been
able to solve.

February 2013 - Kelly

I recently went into this hospital for a routine operation and wanted to say how amazing the service is here. From start to finish the
staff were amazing, so friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. In particular I wanted to say my nurse, Victoria Smith is a
credit to this hospital, she made me feel very special.

February 2013 - Albert

Last week I spent three days in Springfield Hospital and wish you to know that my stay was enhanced because of the kindness and expertise of all the staff, even when I was probably difficult at times due to worry about the outcome, and pain

I would especially like to mention the night staff, Beverly and Theresa, also Victoria and during the day Sharon Finch, Sharon Jamieson and Jill. Last but no means least, I must include Sister Stephanie who gave me much reassurance when I sorely needed it.

January 2013 - Linda

It’s absolutely superb how I have been looked after here today, by the nurses, the physios and my consultant Mr Charnley.

January 2013 - James

On 30th January I was admitted to Springfield Hospital under Mr Richardson for a day case operation.

While hospital admission and surgical operations are not things which I generally welcome, I write to express my appreciation of the care I was afforded during my stay.

My designated nurses staff nurse June and staff nurse Jenny were wholly professional, caring and friendly, showing that they were involved and interested in their dealings with me.

In some hospitals some staff tend to get overlooked, though probably not at Springfield. Healthcare assistant Sally was proficient in her work and showed she was experienced and efficient in what she had to do. Polly, the young lady who bought drinks, showed throughout friendliness and politeness. Perhaps these may wish train to be nurses!

It makes a great deal of difference to a patient’s sense of wellbeing as to how they are dealt with during a hospital stay. In case you are not already aware of it, you have a set of staff which shows the best sides of the nursing profession.

January 2013 - David

I was recently a patient at Springfield Hospital. Mr Harvey carried out hernia repair surgery for me on 22nd January 2013. An overnight stay then followed.

From initial consultation to final sign off yesterday the experience was very positive. I would particularly like to mention the value as a patient that I placed on:

·A consultant and an anaesthetist who were prepared to explain in appropriate details the procedures undertaken.

·Nursing staff – including pre- and post operative theatre staff – who exhibited both professionalism and a caring culture.

·Administration that was effective but not over elaborate.

 

I do believe that the provision of high quality nursing care with a human touch, and keeping patients appropriately informed of their condition, are extremely valuable elements in promoting a patient’s physical and mental well being.

 

Thank you again to all those involved.   

November 2012 - Derek from Billericay

Wonderful treatment. If you have to go to hospital this is the place.

October 2012 - Henry from Chelmsford

Outstanding treatment and care from my first consultation through both surgical procedures to discharge. My consultant (Petros Andreou) was first class. Surgery was as efficient completely pain free with outstanding results. The staff were kind, friendly and allayed all my fears. The hospital environment was excellent from first check in to discharge Highly recommended!!

October 2012 - Anonymous

Following surgery on the 4th October for Gastric Banding, I just wanted to share what a brilliant experience I had at Springfield Hospital. I hadn't been sure what type of surgery would be best for me for helping with weight loss, however after chatting with the very friendly and well informed staff, I was confident that I wanted to see Mr Harvey for Gastric Band Surgery. My whole experience from Seeing Mr Harvey and the nutritionist Hayley, to the day of surgery and beyond have been superb. I was always seen very promptly and everyone treated me very kindly and efficiently. The nursing staff were so lovely and supportive and what little I remember about theatre was very professional, and caring. I was in overnight, but was looked after very well and kept very comfortable. I wanted to get back home early the next day to be with my family and the staff were extremely accommodating. I have been back to have my staples removed and I have healed beautifully and am looking forward to seeing Mr Harvey next week for my 1 month review and show him my 1.5 stone weight loss! All in all, a very happy patient!

September 2012 - Rob from Maldon

I have just been an inpatient for 8 days in Springfield hospital and the care I received from Mr Lyall and every member of staff was
second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, especially from Sister Hendrika Kingsley, who pulled out all the stops on my behalf. I
would definitely recommend Springfield hospital to other patients.

September 2012 - Pwhelt from Chelmsford

Friendly Staff, excellent care, would have no hesitation in returning should I need to in the future. First class.

2012 - Linda

Dear Mandy, Jude, Linda and Liz, I am struggling to find words to say how very grateful I am not only for your very professional care 
but also for your kindness, patience and friendship. But I am most grateful for you being with me through the months of chemo. At the
beginning, 6 months seemed forever and I simply couldn't imagine it being over. Now it is over and I have many special memories about
things that have helped me during the last 6 months that will stay with me for a long time. For example....... * Advice about shaving my head when my hair started falling out. This helped me feel that I could take control of at least a small part of what was happening
to me. * Advice about putting my second stick(the one that I was beating myself with over my job) away in a cupboard. This helped me to really let go of work and stop losing sleep over my inability to micromanage what was happening in my absence. * Always explaining what was being done during each stage of chemo every Wednesday. This may seem unimportant but, when I was feeling weak and useless and a burden to everybody, I experienced respect. * For looking for squirrels and pigeons in the surrounding gardens with us each week as we looked out of the window. And for always being so cheerful and willing to listen and be genuinely interested in both my husband (and his decking project!) and me.  And many more.... I will miss you and my Tuesday and Wednesday visits, the best days in each week in the last 6 months, and these will now seem to be missing something important. I am facing the next lot of experiences with trepidation in no small part because you will not be there too. Thank you for your time, respect, patience and kindness. I consider myself to have been very blessed. Linda

2012 - Alison

Absolutely first class treatment all the way. My thanks to Mr Lyall (who did some amazing surgery with no scars - he's the best!), the anaesthetist (sorry i can't remember your name but you have a great sense of humour) and Sue my wonderful nurse who totally looked after me like a mum would, these are three of the nicest people i've met in ages. They made me feel I was their top priority, listened to
what I wanted and really looked after me. My room was spotless and there was a nice complimentary Molton Brown gift pack. Well done to you all at Chelmsford and especially to Mr Lyall, my anaesthetist and the wonderful Sue. Thanks (June 2012)

2012 - Toria

Hospital clean, theatres clean, treatment from anaesthetist (Dr Kelly) & consultant (Mr Onwude) the best I've ever had. The care from
the ward staff made me feel like I was the only patient in the hospital. My only complaint tea cups & teapots not big
enough!!!! Excellent keep it up Springfield.

2012 - Kala

From the first consultation with Mr Robarts to my discharge the following day of my operation I cannot thank the Springfield Hospital
team enough. Everybody was professional yet friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. I was only expected to be a 'day case' but
ended up needing to say the night due to more invasive surgery than planned, was settled into a 'inpatient' room as soon as possible
with no problems. So a huge thank you to everyone involved in my care, especially HCSW Victoria Smith, you were fantastic

2012 - RM

All of the staff were excellent - from the reception to the porters, to the nurses to the anaesthetist to the surgeon. Without exception
everyone was warm, friendly, considerate, attentive, professional, efficient and skilled. The facilities were wonderful and my sugary
and recovery were very good. Exceeded all expectations. Thank you to the team at Springfield Hospital - wonderful job!

2012 - John

I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere thanks to Mr MacDowell, surgeon and my anaesthetist for the excellent work
they did in replacing my hip. I found all the nurses and staff at Springfield Hospital to be friendly and courteous during my short
stay at the hospital. I felt I had the very best of aftercare regarding advice and guidance which helped me through to full recovery
after a prolonged period of six weeks off work. The success of this operation means I can lead a normal life again without the
aggravating limp and annoying pain that was forever constant prior to the operation. I have no hesitation in recommending Springfield
Hospital to friends and work colleagues as a hospital that shows a high performance of professionalism and most important cares for the
well being of its patients.

2012 - Unknown

The staff are all amazing. From the reception to the porter to the nurses to the anesthetist to the surgeon - without exception they are all warm, friendly, considerate, attentive, professional, efficient and skilled. The environment is clean, well equipped and comfortable. My surgery and recovery went well. The whole experience was excellent and surpassed all expectations. Thank you to the team at Springfield Hospital - wonderful job!

2012 - slbriggs

My 6 year old son had problems and after battling with my gp for 18 months we decided to go private with BUPA and saw a consultant Mr
McAllister, within a week of making an appointment. He was friendly and put my son at ease despite having to examine him. An operation was scheduled for a few weeks later. We had a pre-op appointment whereby again the nurse had excellent bedside skills, was warm and friendly and took time to explain to my son everything that would happen without scaring him. She showed us the ward and one of the rooms and the area where the theatre was. On the day of the operation we were promptly greeted and shown our private ensuite room with twin beds for parent and child incase an overnight stay was needed. The room was bright clean and had everything we needed including a phone and TV. Gill Noble was our assigned nurse for the day and was exceptional. She popped in frequently to keep us updated of theatre times, got us a cup of tea, came quickly when my son needed pain relief and so forth. She even presented my son with a special brave boy certificate after the operation. I cannot fault the services i received from all the members of staff we saw. the hospital is easily located, clean, comfortable and makes you feel relaxed. the staff are very friendly and easily accommodate all your needs.
Would definitely return if the need arises. This was the best possible example of a stay in hospital for my 6 year old son. well done

2012 - Nigel

I am writing this review on behalf of my wife Lisa Ann Bewick who sadly past away at Farleigh Hospice Broomfield on the 1st January 2012 after a long fight with cancer. Lisa was diagnosed with Breast cancer in October 2007 and has received excellent treatment at Springfield Hospital, from all members of staff. Lisa was admitted to Springfield Hospital on 30th November 2011 to have fluid removed from her lungs. Her condition at the time was touch and go, but the team at Springfield work tirelessly, and we were married at the hospital on the 6th December 2011. They pulled out all the stops to make this possible and for that we thank them from the bottom of our hearts. We wish to also thank all members of staff for their professionalism at all times. I stayed at her side throughout her illness and I wish to once again thank all at Springfield Hospital and also all the members of staff at Farleigh Hospice that gave us precious time together. Our Family would also like to thank all the members of staff, as well as our friends, especially Cliff Harvey.

 

2011 - Mrs L from Witham says:

"I would like to express my appreciation for the work done on my knee at Springfield hospital, the whole hospital experience was reassuring and my consultant considerate and skilled. I extend my thanks"

2011 - Mr & Mrs L from Chelmsford said:

"M is now walking slowly and enjoying it very much, he now realises what a marvellous job his consultant has done on both his knees, he has been given a future back - thank you.

2011 - Anonymous said: "

I was admitted to Springfield hospital for a radical prostatectomy and the purpose of my email is  to thank all involved in the operation and the subsequent aftercare. This was my first experience of hospitalisation and I have to say that the standard of care was exemplary. The nurses were caring, compassionate and tirelessly professional and I shall be eternally grateful that they followed their vocation and became nurses. Thanks to everyone".

2011 - Mr A said:

"I was admitted for a hernia operation and stayed overnight. This was the first time I had ever stayed in hospital and I write to say how well I was looked after by everyone from main reception to the nurses. You should be proud of the service provided--thank you"

2011 - Mr B from  Chelmsford said:

"Just a brief note to thank you for the wonderful care and support I received from all the staff involved at Springfield hospital during my recent stay for a hip replacement. Without exception everyone was supportive, cheerful and downright professional. What a great team you have you should be proud"

 

2011 - Mrs D from Little Waltham said:

"Thank you for my new knees, life is so much improved since the operations, i would like you to know how much I appreciated you sympathetic care and the great result"

 

2011 - Mr R said:

"If my new knee was a violin it would be a STRADIVARIUS thank you"

 

2011 - Mrs E from ile de PORT-CROS said:

"Just to let you know that my new knee is doing brilliantly on the boat and I can do everything with no pain.Have swam with no problem and even climbed a small mountain! What a wonderful operation thank you SO MUCH!"

 

Contact us
Make an enquiry
Request a call back
Call us - Useful contacts